Randomthotschick's Blog











{March 29, 2010}   Upcoming races

So last night I was on facebook chatting with my brother and he told me he was training for a Navy Nautical 10miler. Which a Nautical mile is actually longer than a regular one. 1.1508 miles so the race is about 11miles.

FYI: A nautical mile is based on the circumference of the planet Earth.  A minute of arc on the planet Earth is 1 nautical mile. This unit of measurement is used by all nations for air and sea travel. (useless piece of info)

So I was so excited about this race and the possibility of running with my brother and his girl friend that I signed up last night! So a trip to Memphis to visit the family in June is in order.

So here are all my possible races that I am going to run in order-

Rock N Roll Country Music 1/2 in Nashville, Tn: April 24 (this one I am iffy about, I have done it twice already and hate the hills but have been training better lately- though not for hills. Two of my friends are going so I may just get a wild streak and go for it! )

Music Moves Me 10K- Huntsville, Al. May 8th: This race is in honor of a coworker who passed from Lymphoma and goes to raise money for his foundation for scholarships for athletes.

Cotton Row 10k – Huntsville, Al. May 31st: (I totally sucked this one last year so I need to redeem myself. I had just run above stated race in april and hadn’t gotten out and ran once and then showed up to run 6! It also has a few hills and after 4 miles I pretty much just walked in at 1hr 20min 😦 

Inaugral Navy Nautical 10miler(See above actually over 11miles) Millington, TN. June 6th at night: (Yay! I’m signed up and excited to do a night race!)

Hiiway Sprint Tri- Huntsville, Al.  Aug 21st. I will so be there for this one! I just need a bike- Loved this XC course and pool swim(I hate icky water) Want to beat last years time: RUN 32:08   BIKE  26:05   SWIM  11:09  TOTAL  84 place 1:09:21

Frantic Frog Triathlon- Sept 11 Scottsburro, AL. Alittle bit longer of a tri than the above race. Still need bike though. Any suggestions for a bike under 1K ??? Don’t want to spend too much but don’t want a walmart huffy.

Liz Hurley Ribbon Run 5K-Huntsville, Al: Oct 16: This race is special to me. This is the first race I did only 6months after I finished my chemo and radiation. I did it in 36:55 but I did it!!! I run this race every year. This year I am hoping for a PR. Last year I ran w/ a friend so I stayed w/ her and did 34min. The year before was around 31. So my goal will be under 30 for this year.

That’s about it. As of now the only one I am signed up for is the Navy one. But I will prob sign up for the cotton row this week before the cost goes up! It’s too late for country music’s dicount so if I decided to run it, it will be 120.00 😦 boo… I need to run some hills before I decide!

That’s it for now…

~randomthotschick~

grace says:

if you do nashville, i will so do it with you!



Long Legs on the Loose says:

you can totally PR on the 5k! You kicked the halfs butt! I bet you will definitely beat 30 mins but a good few minutes



Grace- Cool I will let you know as soon as I run some hills and see if I’m up to it!!

Katye- Hope so- Did 28:30 on the treadmill the other day.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
